Fatherly Advice

Today’s post is inspired by a great man in my life…my dad.

As I mentioned before, both of my parents are entrepreneurs, so I think it’s actually in my DNA. 🙂  My mom owns her own hair salon in my tiny little hometown (and runs the Plathe Pumpkin Patch like a pro…see previous post). My dad farms, and he called me up to chat yesterday while he was out in the field…

A little background:  My dad and I are thinkers…we think and think and think until we are 85 steps ahead of the rest of the world.  I would also describe my dad as a dreamer in that he comes up with ideas for new inventions and businesses literally everyday.  Not only does he come up with the ideas, but he also thinks through all the little details about how they could work…then he gets incredibly excited.  Therefore, when he’s got about a half a pot of coffee in him in the morning, he calls me and tells me all about his latest idea.  Anyway, I love those conversations with my pops, because he always gets me excited about the possibilities of the future AND there is ALWAYS a bit of advice attached…

“Not taking a risk is a risk, too.”  ~Dad

As a farmer, this man knows what risk is arguably better than anyone else, so after I hung up the phone, I spent some time reflecting on those words…

In life, if we don’t take a risk and continue to remain in our comfort zone, we risk the chance of not experiencing something truly wonderful.  For example, my Junior year of college, I was contemplating studying abroad for either four weeks or four months.  I took a leap of faith and decided to go for a whole semester (4 months) which was 150% outside of my comfort zone and highly unlike me to do.  Well, I can safely say that those were the best four months of my life…I met incredible people, saw oodles of amazing things, ate great food, and most importantly, learned things about myself I otherwise would not have. (If you’d like more details on my adventure, I have a blog about it: Lindsay’s London Adventure)

Well, professionally-speaking, taking a risk is just as frightening.  However, not taking a risk and continuing to do things like you always have won’t get you very far in this ever-changing world.  None of us want to become stale in our business endeavors…we want to always be thinking BIG for the future.

Now, after reading this, take a look at your business…is there more you could be doing to stay fresh and up-to-date?  How about your marketing?  When was the last time you updated the content of your website or business card?  You may be thinking, “I’m doing fine…business is good.”  To that, let me ask you this: “Don’t you want your business to be GREAT?!”

Ok, I just had a conversation with myself, so I think it’s about time to wrap this up… 🙂

I was always taught that the key to success in business (great business) is to hire people that are smarter than you…aka: experts in their field.  So, if your marketing is getting stale, take a chance and hire me to help!  Remember, “not taking a risk is a risk, too.”

Email me today!  lgplathe08@ole.augie.edu

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Lindsay, this is great!! I can definitely see where you get it from!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

SnapShotJellyTots

Wasn't Worth It Anyway

Just Another Student Seeking Something Bigger

Dancing Unicycling College Travel

Small Food Business

The Soup to Nuts Resource for Artisan Food Entrepreuers

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

