Handyman Mike

Happy Wednesday everybody!

Several exciting things happened this week…ironically, I received 3 different requests for marketing consultations at Fireside (my evening employment).  Two of them will remain a mystery…for now. 🙂  But stay tuned to see who they are…you won’t be disappointed.

Anywho…it always amazes me how basic friendly conversations with customers lead to more marketing work for me (which I love).  With that said, let me tell you a little story…

Mike is a regular at Fireside, but before this week, I had not had the opportunity to meet him.  Before officially meeting him, I knew him as “the guy at the bar that plays basketball with the garbage and a crumpled piece of paper and occasionally hits a waitress instead of the intended target”. 🙂  He enjoys having conversations with any of the waitresses or hostesses that aren’t busy for a moment, and they are happy to reciprocate.

The other evening, I had the pleasure of officially meeting Mike which was a new life experience for me and a pretty cool one, too, because Mike is deaf.  So the other night I delivered his food to him at the bar, and he signed “Thank you” to me…I was slightly disappointed that I didn’t know how to sign “You’re welcome” back to him, so I just flashed him a big smile and nodded my head.  Later, I decided I would just ask him, so I grabbed a napkin and a pen and wrote down my question…he was more than happy to show me (and I think a little excited that someone asked him how to speak his language).  If you’re curious, here’s your American Sign Language lesson of the day:   Mike proceeded to ask me if I knew any other deaf people to which I responded that I did not, but I knew basic signs like “more”, “please”, “all done” and “thank you” because the one-year-old that I live with used/uses them before he could speak.

Our napkin-and-pen conversation continued for another few minutes while he told me he had to wake up early the next day to go to work and teased me that I probably wouldn’t be getting out of bed until noon.  I shook my head and responded that I have a day job, too, so no sleeping in for me.  🙂  From there, I told him that I do various marketing for small businesses, and, turns out he needed just that!  Mike is a handyman in the area and needed an updated business card.

Turns out that there are some pretty sweet templates online for construction-related business cards, so I decided that would be a perfect option for this project.  These are the two designs that I mocked up:

Handyman Mike Business Card Design #2Handyman Mike Business Card Design #1

Based on the information Mike gave me, I spent time making sure that all the wording accurately portrayed what he does. Because I wasn’t sure what style he would like best, I chose 2 very different designs to give him an option. 

I’m excited to see what your thoughts are and what Mike’s final decision will be!

Thanks for tuning in to today’s post!  I greatly appreciate you taking the time to check out what wonderful life and marketing experiences I’ve had this week!  Until next time…

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

SnapShotJellyTots

Wasn't Worth It Anyway

Just Another Student Seeking Something Bigger

Dancing Unicycling College Travel

Small Food Business

The Soup to Nuts Resource for Artisan Food Entrepreuers

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

